Monday, 6 May 2019

Fifa adds two new women's awards to 'Best' ceremony

Fifa announced on Monday it will add two new women's football awards, best goalkeeper and team of the year, to its annual trophy ceremony.

This year's 'Fifa Best' awards will be presented in Milan on September 23

"I can't think of a better time to introduce these awards dedicated to women's football," said Fifa deputy secretary general Zvonimir Boban.

The ceremony now features 11 awards, including the best men's and women's player of the year trophies – won in 2018 by Croatia's Luka Modric and Brazilian star Marta respectively.

This year's Women's World Cup in France starts on June 7.

No comments:

Post a comment