Saturday, 18 May 2019

Galaxy stun Chiefs to win Nedbank Cup

TS Galaxy stunned Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 in the 2018/19 Nedbank Cup final at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday.

The result saw Galaxy become the first National First Division (NFD) club to win the competition after humiliating record 13-time champions Chiefs.

Chiefs attacked Galaxy from the start with Bernard Parker looking lively down the right-hand side in the opening stages of the game.

Galaxy nearly scored an own-goal from the experienced attacker's cross, but Austin Dube was able to clear the ball away in the 10th minute.

Amakhosi were awarded a free-kick in a promising area in the 18th minute and Khama Billiat placed it just over the crossbar.

Dan Malesela's side grew in confidence as the match progressed and they had a chance to score 10 minutes before the half-hour mark.

Thembinkosi Mbamba volleyed his effort over the crossbar with only Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma to beat.

Amakhosi should have scored just before halftime with the Galaxy defence exposed, but Parker's goal-bound effort was cleared away by Dube.

The score was 0-0 at the interval following a lively first half which had few chances.

Chiefs were the better side after the restart and Ludwe Mpakumpaku was the busier of the two keepers in the opening stages of the second half.

The Galaxy captain denied Kabelo Mahlasela, before gathering Billiat's effort as the lower division side frustrated the Soweto giants.

Coach Malesela introduced Galaxy's top goalscorer in the Nedbank Cup, Zakhele Lepasa, as the NFD side looked to break the deadlock.

Galaxy were awarded a late penalty when Orlando Pirates loanee Lepasa was fouled inside the box.

Lepasa then stepped up and beat Bvuma from the spot-kick to hand Galaxy a famous 1-0 victory over Chiefs, who could not grab a late equaliser in stoppage time.

Chiefs (0) 0

Galaxy (0) 1 (Lepasa 90'+2)

Chiefs: Bvuma, Moleko, Ntiya-Ntiya, Hadebe, Cardoso, Katsande, Mahlasela, Andrianarimanana (Maluleka 46'), Manyama (Zuma 70'), Billiat, Parker.

Galaxy: Mpakumpaku, Aubaas, Dube, Mashego, Nyama (Phungwayo 70'), Chaine (Lepasa 62'), Mbamba (Ngidi 37'), Bodibe, Nduli, Mdlinzo, Ndlovu.

No comments:

Post a comment