Thursday, 10 October 2019

Belgium first country to qualify for Euro 2020

Belgium became the first side to confirm their qualification for next year’s European Championships after a 9-0 thrashing of minnows San Marino on Thursday evening.

With a perfect record of seven wins from seven and only one goal conceded, Belgium will now be looking to cement first place in Group I.

They have qualified ahead of Russia, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, Scotland and San Marino, with Russia just one result away from following Belgium to Euro 2020.

The scoring was opened just before the half-hour mark by Romelu Lukaku, who notched his 50th senior international goal on his 83rd appearance.

Lukaku added a second before half-time, but not before Nacer Chadli and a Cristian Brolli own goal had made the result safe. A second own goal from Andrea Grandoni and a stoppage-time strike from Youri Tielemans left Belgium with a healthy 6-0 lead at the interval.

Christian Benteke added a seventh with ten minutes to play before Yari Verschaeren made it eight from the spot and Timothy Castagne scored in stoppage time.

With next summer’s tournament set to take place all around the continent, Belgium may well be targeting Euro 2020 as the best chance for their current golden generation to win a major international title.

Russia, meanwhile, had also been hoping to confirm their qualification on the same night but were made to wait after third-placed Cyprus scored two late goals to claim a 2-1 win away to Kazakhstan.

Spain and Italy look well-placed to seal their qualification sooner rather than later, with both sides having won all six of their qualifying games so far.

No comments:

Post a Comment