Thursday, 12 March 2020

Ntseki recalls Khune to squad for 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier

Khune back for Bafana in squad to face Sao Tome e Principe
Bafana Bafana coach Molefi Ntseki has recalled Itumeleng Khune to his squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Sao Tome e Principe, one of a number of surprises in the selection.

Khune last played for Bafana in 2018 as constant injuries have limited his appearances for Kaizer Chiefs to just four this season as he has had to play second fiddle to Nigeria international Daniel Akpeyi.

Veteran Black Leopards defender Thabo Matlaba has also earned a recall and could potentially earn his first cap in almost four years, while Lamontville Golden Arrows defender Gladwin Shitolo is another surprise pick.

Andile Jali is back in the mix, as was widely expected, but there is no place for France-based midfielder Bongani Zungu, or the injured Kamohelo Mokotjo.

Maritzburg United forward Thabiso Kutumela also makes a return to the squad for the first time since he helped South Africa lift the COSAFA Cup in 2016.

Bafana play back-to-back home and away matches against minnows Sao Tome e Principe, starting with a clash at FNB Stadium on March 27, before the return clash at the Estadio Nacional 12 de Julho four days later.

Bafana lost their opening qualifier 2-0 in Ghana, but bounced back to beat Sudan 1-0 at home.


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Brendon Peterson (Bidvest Wits).

Defenders: Erick Mathoho, Reeve Frosler (Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo, S'fiso Hlanti (Wits), Gladwin Shitolo (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabo Matlaba (Black Leopards).

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Themba Zwane (Sundowns), George Maluleke, Lebogang Manyama (Chiefs), Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport), Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp, France), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Percy Tau (Club Brugge, Belgium), Thulani Serero (Al Jazira, UAE)

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg, France), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport), Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United).

No comments:

Post a Comment