Friday, 30 October 2020

Rohr names Nigeria squad for Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers


Sebastian Osigwe has been handed his maiden Nigeria call up ahead of November’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers with Sierra Leone, while Victor Osimhen and Joe Aribo return to the squad.

The Switzerland-born goalkeeper last represented the country at U20 level where he was part of John Obuh’s team to the 2013 Toulon tournament. However, he did not make the Flying Eagles’ cut to the U20 World Cup in Turkey.

In the 2020-21 Swiss Super League campaign, the 26-year-old has featured four times for Lugano, conceding six goals in the process. Nevertheless, he would be hoping to beat Daniel Akpeyi and Maduka Okoye to earn his maiden cap.

Elsewhere, Napoli’s Victor Osimhen and Rangers’ Joe Aribo are back to the team having missed last week’s game against Algeria and Tunisia. They join regular selections Ahmed Musa, William Troost-Ekong and Alex Iwobi in the 24-team squad.

APOEL goalkeeper Francis Uzoho headlines the seven players placed on standby. Others are Abdullahi Shehu, Ramon Azeez, Samson Tijani, Paul Onuachu, Kelechi Nwakali and Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

The Super Eagles take on the Leone Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on November 13 before heading to Freetown for the return leg four days later.

With six points from two games, Nigeria lead Group L with six points and victory in both games will assure the three-time Africa champions a place at the 2022 Afcon in Cameroon.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Sebastian Osigwe (FC Lugano, Switzerland); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Unattached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Emmanuel Dennis Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

Standby: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, Austria); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Cyprus); Ramon Azeez (Granada CF, Spain); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)


No comments:

Post a Comment